2005 Results
Home Up


2005 A Race Results
2005 B Race Results

Back to
Home Page

Organisers Comments 2005

I hope the brief spell of showery weather around midday didn’t spoil your enjoyment of the race. Conditions were good for racing apart from that, with times slightly quicker than last year, despite all the rain in the days just before the event. An additional challenge for the organising team this year was the Equestrian event crossing the route just after Primrose Hill, but constructive dialogue with the Farmer and vigilant Marshalling meant this didn’t present any problems - horses and runners happily co-existing.

Congratulations to Glen Groves whose perseverance in the A race over the years has finally paid off. His battle with last year’s winner Martin Crosby saw the top two placings change hands in the last few miles, with Glen emerging victorious after his second place finish last year. Having just re-read my organisers comments from last year, I had a feeling that Glen could be in contention this year! The new LV50 trophy for the A Race went un-contested on the day, but the LV40 trophy went to Victoria Musgrove, who was 3rd Lady overall. The MV60 trophy went to Brian Beattie of West Cheshire, with the MV50 being awarded to Stephen Morran who was runner up in that category last year. Les Brookman of Warrington took the MV40 prize, with West Cheshire scooping the Team prize. This year saw an unusually high number of family combinations amongst the prizewinners. In the A Race, husband and wife Dan and Karen Parker took the Orienteer and Ladies prizes respectively (Karen setting a new LV40 record in the process - something that went unnoticed on the day! - well done Karen)

The B Race saw a Mother/Daughter/Son-in-Law combination amongst the prizes, with Sandra Owen once again taking the LV50 prize, daughter Suzanne (Benyon) winning the Ladies prize and Suzanne’s husband Peter winning the race out-right. I hope you have a big mantlepiece! Mariano Capponi was winner of the MV60 prize with son Simone amongst the counters for Penny Lane Striders in the team prize. Jane Campion won the LV40 prize in the B Race for Vale Royal with the corresponding mens age group prize going over the border into Wales with Chris Davies of Buckley. The MV50 prize went in the opposite direction to Liverpool RC’s Phil Bailey.

One plea - could anyone who discarded drink bottles, banana skins or other items anywhere on route (including the car park at Beeston) please examine your conscience and refrain from causing litter at races in the future. It’s unnecessary and is embarrassing for race organisers to have to explain to the people who’s land we use. Please take your litter home with you!

I would like to thank the following, without whom the race would not have happened:
* Ian Heywood (Northwich Police) - loan of road signs,
* Rob Evans (Castlegate Farm, Beeston) - B Race Start,
* Robin Latham (Organsdale Farm, Kelsall) - Route from Primrose Hill to Yeld Lane,
* Nick Lowe (St. John Ambulance),
* Sarah Wilson (Forestry Commission) - Delamere Forest Permit,
* John Street (Cheshire County Council) - Trail Ranger,
* Dave Morris (National Trust, Bickerton) - Temporary removal of kissing gates,
* Mark Hodgson (English Heritage, Beeston Castle) - Car parking and toilets,
* Andy Worthington (Chair of North West Sports Board, Sport England) -
once again presenting prizes after competing in the B race,
* Alex Renton for being Mr Fix-it (internal combustion engines a speciality),
* Deeside stalwarts especially Barry, Jill, Steve, Andrew and Gwyn for excellent support yet again
* The anonymous but sympathetic lorry driver who stopped to allow A Race runners cross the A534.
* All competitors, especially those who have taken the trouble to express their enjoyment of the race either verbally or by e-mail.
* All marshals, many of whom unselfishly return year after year; especially Alan & Morag who looked after Nick Haywood after he strained ankle ligaments, then transported him safely to St John Ambulance at the Finish.

The total number of entries was up yet again, which is very encouraging for the future of the race. Staging the race these last two years has been hard work but ultimately rewarding, knowing that I’ve put something back into the sport of running, which has been such a big part of my life. I am standing down as organiser, with Chris Hallows taking over next year for what will be the 30th Anniversary event. Thanks to Chris for taking on the role and keeping the event going. Provisional date for next year's race - Sunday 1st October 2006.

Phil Janaway
0151 336 4482

Lost property: Green T shirt, left at Beeston - contact organiser to reclaim.
Unclaimed pre-ordered Race T-shirts: Send an A4 SAE with postage sufficient for 200grammes weight, or contact the organiser to arrange collection.

Back to Top